During the first meeting of the elected Board of the Philippine Orthopaedic Association (POA) in 1972, the late Dr. Rodolfo C. Dimayuga as president, the idea of founding an independent examining body was considered. Such a body was envisioned to pass upon the proficiency and surgical competence of graduates of the residency training programs in Orthopaedic Surgery which at that time was being undertaken by the POA. It was suggested that as a separate body, the Philippine Board of Orthopaedics (PBO) will be an academic organization. The idea was to set forth the task of maintaining the high standards of orthopaedic training and education of the two institutions which were accredited at that time, the National Orthopaedic Hospital and the Philippine General Hospital.

The idea was enthusiastically approved and thus, the PBO was formed. The By-Laws of the new body was formulated and the initial set of officers from among the members of the current POA Board were elected. As a newly formed body, it sought official status by registering with the Securities and Exchange Commission which gave its approval on February 29, 1972.

The first to serve as its chairman was Dr. Rodolfo C. Dimayuga and the other officers were: Dr. Manuel T. Rivera, Vice-Chairman; Dr. Jose M. Pujalte, Secretary-Treasurer; Dr. Fermin M. de Leon and Dr. Antonio C. Acosta as members of the Board. The first official action of the Board was to announce that from thereon, graduates of orthopaedic residency training programs of the two institutions shall take the written, oral and practical examinations, a task which until then was administered by the POA for its prospective Fellows. Successful examinees were henceforth granted the title DIPLOMATE in Orthopaedic Surgery. The title Diplomate qualifies them to become Fellows of the POA.

Another important action of the Board was to automatically grant Diplomate titles to the incumbent Fellows of POA at that time under a grandfather’s clause provided for in the By-Laws. Thus, Drs. Ambrosio F. Tangco, Buenaventura J. Canto, Jr., Benjamin V. Tamesis, Francisco N. Aguilar and Fermin M. de Leon and other senior orthopaedic surgeons were the beneficiaries of the promulgation.

Adapted from: PBO Greenbook 2nd Edition (1998)